Skip to content

A Year Older (not again!)

March 6, 2011

Ya well, it is my birthday once again and so the title.

I am sure you are familiar with how much I hate birthdays. If not go back in time. No it’s not a time portal, duh!

 

So now you are going to say, there she goes again. So what, as the saying goes (is it really a ‘saying’?) a birthday gal can do whatever she wishes to, and so I am going to rant and rave. It is my blog for God’s sake.

OK enough, I am tiring myself. And I did promise somebody that I would not crib today.

 

So without further digressing I am just going to say that I am going to stop being a party-pooper and am going to enjoy this day with my beloved family and my moderately beloved friends. Just kidding, you are all the loves of my life (how many loves of life can a person have, is there a rule?).

There, I have lost my point once again. Focus! Or maybe I will crib for another half hour, but after that definitely party time!

 

I just don’t understand how birthdays can be a day of joy and merriment. How can anyone stand getting older? Maybe at my age it doesn’t make much of a difference. But it would definitely feel scary when you are teetering on 69 and plunge into the 70s, right? So then my consternation is very much reasonable. I am progressing to the dark ages slowly, and we all know slow and steady wins the race (not sure if this proverb is applicable here, but anyways).

Maybe I should just ignore it. Forget that today is my birthday. Go under, switch off all means of communication, no reminders whatsoever. It might help, how I don’t know, but it just might. Yeah I’ve gone bonkers, it is certified. That too on the day I was born.

 

There is one thing I look forward too, is tearing open the wrapping paper and enjoying a moment of surprise at the presents I receive, which are few but rare and treasured.

Now, wouldn’t it be fine if the Almighty God would himself wish to gift me something. Guess what I would ask for? I would fervently beg him to make me a child again. Like maybe when I was a year old.

"Me"Yeah that’s me, when I turned one. I know, I know, I was adorable.

 

So going back to turning a year old, I am wondering if I would have lived my life differently? There are times when we all, one time or the other, wish we had done things differently. Would I have then been able to live by not repeating such errors?

But then again, if we don’t make mistakes, how will we learn? Will we get any assurance that we are making any kind of progress? Because as much as success defines progress, so does making mistakes and overcoming them.

Something to think about isn’t it?

 

Anyways I will leave you at that, as I am going to party!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 9:45 AM

    🙂 Happy Birthday

  2. March 6, 2011 11:07 AM

    Happy birthday pooja!

    Well I always believed that there needn’t be any reason to celebrate anything. Be it getting a pea stuck between your tooth out, or getting that life changing promotion. One should enjoy them all.

    My birthday’s are always calm and spent with family rather than friends. If not for me it makes them feel happy , which I find a reason worthy enough.

    Have a nice day!

    • March 7, 2011 10:53 AM

      That’s so true :).
      Thank you so much for the wishes!

  3. March 6, 2011 12:01 PM

    Happy Happy Birthday!
    Birthdays are nothing but an excuse to have fun!

  4. Bikram permalink
    March 6, 2011 7:53 PM

    Exactly .. if we dont make mistakes how do we learn but its also a good idea to learn from other people’s mistake tooo.. 🙂

    Here’s wishing you all the best and a very happy birthday and many many happy returns of the day 🙂

    and you had a prty how cum we are not invited .. tats not fair 🙂

    hope you had a gret time

    • March 7, 2011 10:54 AM

      Ahh I didn’t think of that. How about if you are in Mumbai we’ll have a belated party :P?
      Thanks so much!!

  5. March 7, 2011 12:47 AM

    No, you didn’t crib! And it’s good to have you smiling! And yes you looked cute then and still, too! 🙂

    Wish no # 4th – Happy birthday! 😀

    • March 7, 2011 10:56 AM

      Haha :D!! Thank you thank you thank you for all the wishes!!! And the compliment ;).

      Next year we’ll make it to 10 OK?

  6. March 7, 2011 10:06 AM

    Happy birthday, happy birthday!
    Celebrate and have a great day… no reason is too little/too hard to understand for celebration. 😀

    • March 7, 2011 10:56 AM

      Thanks Deboshree.. I had a great time actually ;).

Leave a comment