Skip to content

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf

January 27, 2010

18th January  

S and I are at Bandra, Linking Road trying to find the post office because I have to collect my CET Application Kit. I am at the wheel, when we pass National College and get stuck in the traffic jam. 

 

Me: Hey where’s Cream Centre? (pointing to the left) It’s gone, something new has opened up.  

S: OH MY GOD! MY GOD! MY GOD! HOW? HOW IN THE WORLD IS IT POSSIBLE? (decibel: 100. It had almost reached the pain threshold. If there were speakers outside my car the traffic would have cleared in 1/1000th of a second, without a doubt. Also please remind me about my appointment at the ENT on Thursday)  

Me: What?? What??? Did I bang someone’s car? Did I kill someone?? Oh no! I am so dead.. What did you love Cream Centre??? What happened?  

S looks at me, without uttering a word, without blinking.  

Me: Say something (shaking her)…  

S: That is The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf café.. Remember the one I was talking about, the one in L.A. With the world’s most amazing White Mocha Chocolate Latte Shake (I’m not sure about this, just some words I remember, randomly arranged).  

Me: Ya kind of.. The one you said that kicked Starbucks ass (preference-wise, of course)?  

S: Yesssssssss!!!!!! That one. How is it here? I just don’t believe it. How? How? (this goes on for like 10 minutes, by the time we’ve reached our destination)  

Me: Please calm down.. I don’t want to become deaf.. We’ll go check it once I’m done here.  

  

We did go, however it was going to open on 21st. So plans were made to come back some other day. 

    

21st January 

On the phone:  

  

Me: Hey that Coffee Tin Bin thing is opening today (reading the newspaper).  

S: (angrily) It is Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf.  

Me: Whatever! When do you want to go?  

S: Soon, once you remember the name.  

Me: Haha! Never then.  

S: NO NO.. This week we’re going, come what may.  

  

A little about the chain:

"The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf"

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf is a Los Angeles, California-based coffee chain, owned and operated by International Coffee & Tea, LLC. The chain has over 750 locations in 22 countries. founded by Mona and Herbert Hyman in September 1963. They opened the first store in the Los Angeles. It was originally a small family owned café, which enjoyed tremendous growth and success in a span of few years all over the world. They introduced to the world The Original Ice Blended drink, which is now found on a lot of café menus. Take a look at their website, there’s a lot more than just a café chain. 

    

26th January  

So today, we finally ended up at the café. We were meeting an old colleague there.  

"The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Menu"

It is good place, great ambience, well-lit, good decor and basically a cool and comfortable hang out.  

It has been brought to Mumbai by Blue Foods (they own Cream Centre FYI). So thankfully there were a lot of vegetarian options and also eggless deserts (yeyyy me!!!!). Coffee choices were good too, and they resemble their American counterparts. Oh also there were around 6 items which read ‘vanilla’ which made my day. Prices range from affordable to slightly expensive, so plan accordingly. And also there is free Wi-Fi, which made S so happy, she just couldn’t contain herself. It was embarrassing, but that’s another story. 

  

But all in all, it was a good experience. So all Mumbai-ites, go check out the latest American addition to our eating-out landscape. However it better not kick CCD’s ass (it is Indian after all, and still remains my favourite).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rohitashwa permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:23 PM

    Hey,
    Its also open at Sobo Central – Tardeo as well as at CR2 – Nariman point. Been open since over 6 months in Mumbai.

  2. Abhishek Datta permalink
    January 30, 2010 11:48 AM

    Not been to ‘Coffee Tin Bin thing’ till now, but will definitely check it out…
    But I dont think the taste of India along with the price effectiveness of CCDs can be easily jerked by the Firangi Coffee store…

    And if you say, its worth a try… maybe I can poke my friends out for a cup of the Tin Bin thing.. 🙂

  3. February 11, 2010 4:29 PM

    I like the ambience of coffee bean …sp the upper floor which reminded me of coffee shops abroad.

Leave a Reply

