Skip to content

Urban Love

February 19, 2010

I am a complete city girl, to the last molecule of my being. I just thrive in the noise and heat and sweat a city has to offer.

 

I was born in Mumbai, and have lived here ever since, except for the 1 year that I was in Bangalore. But that’s a city too ;). I am so accustomed to the cacophony and the pace of life in this metro that I am quite mortified at the thought of living somewhere unlike Mumbai. 

 

The crowds, the traffic jams, the congestion and tempers flying everywhere, are just a part and parcel of living in a city. Often people ask me how I manage to live in Mumbai. “Life is so fast, isn’t it?” I never used to understand what they mean by “fast” before.

Lately, I visited my hometown in Gujarat, where I comprehended the meaning of the term. Somehow, there is ample of time to do everything, even time for an afternoon snooze, which is unheard of here (I don’t mean to offend anyone). One part of me envies them, but on the other hand I am indifferent.

 

It is tiring to match the rhythm of everyone in Mumbai, so much so that sometimes you feel void of all your energy. But in spite of this you don’t or rather can’t stop. That is what I would call a challenge.

It is absolutely thrilling to compete with the city, and when you come out victorious in the end, it feels great, if you know what I mean :D. Sometimes it just gets so difficult to explain, but I guess those who experience it will know exactly how I feel.

 

I think I am totally destined to live in a city like Mumbai. Damned  if you can make me go anywhere else.

It has been quite a ride loving Mumbai, she definitely doesn’t make it easy. But it is the best relationship I’ve ever had ;).

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Prashanth Rajan permalink
    February 19, 2010 10:02 PM

    Nothing beats like home, right ! Wherever you go , whatever you do, home will always be home !

  2. February 19, 2010 10:03 PM

    Sweet 🙂

    Frankly, I do not like Mumbai at all. I feel it saps all the energy out of you….there are so many things to be appreciated in this world. Nature, calmness and humanity which I feel Mumbai lacks . Everyone is too busy to be actually appreciative of other human beings. Most people living in Mumbai will be now ready to shed my blood 🙂 but I stand by my views.

  3. February 20, 2010 12:11 AM

    I can completely relate to your post 🙂 It’s like we’ve fallen in love with the city.

  4. February 20, 2010 12:11 AM

    I can completely relate to your post 🙂 It’s like we’ve fallen in love with the city.

  5. February 20, 2010 2:25 AM

    Yes, mumbai is very fast and the life you have always experienced is really different to what people of small town do.

    I am from a small town near Nainital, and i tell you life there is even slower than the life of small towns of Gujrat and Maharahtra. Right now i am in pune and have spent some time in Delhi too. So in a way i am accustomed to both kind of lives, fast and slower one.

    One thing which is there in faster form of life in metros is the amount of exposure you get and how little time you take to mature. And whereas in towns it seems like you have all the time in the world to do all what you can, exposure is less but i tell you what the moments of happiness are always there in a slow life. You get more time for yourself and you can indulge in lots of hobbies and there is time to have the pure and natural fun.

  6. February 20, 2010 12:27 PM

    @ LP and Abhinav,

    I agree abt ur point about missing the finer things in life.. nature and humanity do get lost in such a big city..

    but what I love here, and what you don’t find anywhere else, is the constant battle to just “be”.. it is so satisfying..

    i guess it is very subjective, isn’t it? sometimes it just stumps me- the variety the world has to offer.

  7. February 20, 2010 1:06 PM

    @Thoughtful

    Yes, bu during that battle we forget about the basic things in our life. We forget about the time we have to give ourselves, we forget about the real happiness which happens coz of small things, we forget about spending times with our loved ones, we forget about laying in the grass and watching stars in the open sky (The sky is never dark in metros, always either orange or yellow coz of lights :|), and yes we do not get to sleep in the afternoon. 😦

  8. Ashish permalink
    February 21, 2010 12:23 PM

    One of my friends in Mumbai has calculated that an average working person from the city spends equivalent to 40 days every year travelling in the locals (i.e. considering the life time more than 10 % of life spent in locals)….if thats true….I guess its not worth it…certainly life is more than that…the only problem is…u need to live in such cities to achieve something in life…but then again, ultimate chicken and egg question is…..what for?

  9. February 24, 2010 6:35 AM

    I think the places we like are determined by where we spent our childhood… after spending all my childhood in the sleepy town of Rajahmundry in Andhra Pradesh, swimming in the Godavari and hanging out in the plush green fields, I just couldn’t stand Mumbai, the locals, the monsoons, the demographics…

    and it took me 2 years to make my peace with Mumbai (mostly because of the peaceful and green IIT campus and friendly auto-wallahs) and even after four years, I cannot imagine myself living outside IIT!

    • February 24, 2010 7:19 PM

      ooohhh ur from IIT… my respects tripled for u :D..
      i knw quite a few ppl in IIT Bom.. classmates from school.. and my dad’s an alumnus.

      • February 25, 2010 4:45 AM

        lol… respects tripled!!!

        yeah there is a good chance that we have common friends 😉

  10. March 17, 2010 11:29 PM

    I am born and brought up in a small city where there is ample time. now that I’ll be shifting to Pune I wonder how will I cope! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Driving In Mumbai « Thoughtful Randomness' Blog

Leave a Reply

