Skip to content

How Can You Hate Coldplay?

March 12, 2010

S kept asking me this. Like continuously, on and on, badgering me for an answer.

 

What could I say? I just found Chris Martin too – ??? Can’t think of a word, “weird” sounds too tame :P. Just watch one of their videos. You will know exactly what I am talking about.

Somehow Coldplay never appealed to me. I guess I was some insane freak, a person without any kind of perception for “good” music. It was like I had committed blasphemy. 

Why the hell was it such a big deal?

 

This was 3 months ago…

 

Grudgingly I listened to “Clocks” and “Viva La Vida” and fell head over heels in love with the music. I can’t believe I was missing this for so long. What was I thinking? I was so cynical, now that I think about it.

I am a huge fan of 3 Doors Down, U2, Lifehouse – basically everything Alt. Rock. Coldplay never made the list until recently. Don’t know what happened, what made me change my mind? I think I owe it to “peer pressure” ;).

 

S is going to be so happy :D!!!

 

“Oh nothing else compares…”

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 10:34 PM

    I too am a very huge fan of 3 Doors Down. And Coldplay, too. Wonder whether you’ve heard about “Poets of the Fall”?

  2. March 14, 2010 2:09 AM

    Exactly!! Its kind of acquired taste! When i listened to ‘yellow’ by coldplay, ppl made fun of me! But today they hum the tracks more often than i do!

    And do check out poets of the fall as ARijit has suggested. They r good too!

  3. March 14, 2010 7:54 AM

    Not a fan of coldplay. How did they win the Grammy for best rock band when they are not even a rock band?

  4. March 14, 2010 9:30 AM

    I agree with you. I am more a fan of carnatic music but if there is one band i love listening to .. it is Coldplay. Yellow, Clocks are my all time fav !! U2 is great too…

    – Krishna
    http://www.krishrao.com

  5. March 14, 2010 11:21 AM

    Coldplay…among my favourites… ;))

  6. March 14, 2010 10:34 PM

    I read your post only cos there was “coldplay” in the title. I jus love them!

  7. March 15, 2010 2:53 AM

    …had to read this one…it said “coldplay”, i think one of the best things about alternative rock is that it is like slow addiction, the more you listen the more you like it!!!

    Try “Green Day” and “Dave Mathews Band” if you haven’t heard them already, they’re good, though DMB would be more tilted towards blues.

    Hey and I found something new to listen to as well, haven’t heard “Poets of the Fall”, will do so now…many thanks to Arjit from my side as well.

    • March 15, 2010 10:16 AM

      oh yes i do listen to Green Day and DMB..
      now that we’re sharing, you should also listen (and I am sure you already are) to Snow Patrol.
      and there’s a relatively new one- OneRepublic.

  8. March 29, 2010 7:41 PM

    Cold play is OK. The worst is Simple Plan. Ugh! Have you heard “What if” ? That song is meant so show people the psychological state of a clearly unsound mind.
    Pierre sucks.

Leave a Reply

