Skip to content

Answering The “Call” Anywhere And Everywhere

March 15, 2010

Sunday is a day of monotony and normalcy. But sometimes unusual things jerk you from this reverie.

I was coming back home from an outing, when I found myself in a ridiculously embarrassing situation. I had opted to travel by rickshaw.

 

The rickshawalla was driving at full speed as if hell had broken loose and he had to escape. I was a little terrified, and for good reason. There have been so many accidents lately due to rash driving, one has got to be careful. We were approaching the Pawan Hans airfield, where the road is usually empty. Even the footpath is free of hawkers and pedestrians.

And suddenly he slowed down, parked the vehicle, jumped out and disappeared.

 

For a second, I just sat there my mind not processing the situation. I then got out and what do I see? The fellow is “fleeing” at top speed.

Without thinking I ran after him screaming, “Arre bhaiyya, kidhar  bhaag  rahe  ho? Mujhe  autorickshaw  chalani  aati  nahi.  Andheri  nahi  jaana  tha  toh  idhar tak  aaye hi kyun?” And then I see him go and hide himself behind a tree.

 

My imagination went on an overdrive. “Was there an accident? Are the police following us? Do I look like a terrorist? Why the hell is he hiding? Is he so dumb that he thinks I can’t see him? Wait till I catch hold of him? Stupid man, no sense of duty or respect.”

As I moved further I heard him saying, “Madamjee, mujhe bathroom jaana hai.”

 

Yuck!!! Eeewwwww!!! Disusting!!!

The only choice was to go back and sit in the rickshaw and wait for this unethical, shameless creature to come back and drop me home. What else could I do? He had already started watering the plants.

I badly wanted to give him a piece of my mind, but I was feeling so wierd and embarrassed that I let it go. And the worst part was, we had passed a public facility just half a minute before.

 

I just couldn’t stop myself from wondering: “Are they ever going to learn?”

31 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 2:43 AM

    Oh no they won’t they never will…and its really commendable how you have been able to add humor to the narrative, contrast to how irritated you must have been when the incident actually happened!!!

  2. March 15, 2010 6:11 AM

    Though it was an ironic narrative , but you made me laugh 😛

    Actually , they can only learn if they really want to learn.

    http://www.zindagiilive.com

  3. March 15, 2010 6:58 AM

    true calling comes when you least expect it. isn’t it ? 🙂

  4. March 15, 2010 10:39 AM

    I am wonder-struck by turn of events. I was scared something really bad is going to happen very soon.

  5. March 15, 2010 10:51 AM

    lol! it is also the lack of public conveniences that makes them overlook them when they see one, habituated as they are in public excretion….
    sad but true

  6. March 15, 2010 11:40 AM

    Hillarious…. But seriously , men peeing in public is gross and something we have learnt to put up with. We may screw up our noses in disgust, but that’s about it.

    Ironically the public facilities that do exist are such stinkfests!

  7. March 15, 2010 3:50 PM

    lol!

  8. March 15, 2010 4:01 PM

    Some people find the public toilets too crampy and dirty yaar….what’s more safe than relieving this way?
    Never mind people around you getting embarrassed…they don’t care!!

  9. March 15, 2010 7:20 PM

    hahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahaha….nice !!!

  10. March 15, 2010 9:50 PM

    This is shameless…
    You should have given some piece of your mind to that stupid moron!

  11. March 16, 2010 1:53 PM

    hi, that is sick but you put it across in a funny way!

  12. March 16, 2010 4:37 PM

    ok that was funny and yeah u ask this…when will they ever learn…the same for me too when i want to use the loo in the trains especially the WC’s which will surely give u B Coli or some other dreaded disease. i guess a lot of our janta have to be loo trained…

  13. March 16, 2010 7:39 PM

    yucckkk…….!!!!!!! how much gross-er can they get… eyewwwwww….. 😕
    arghh… gawd..!!! m so thankful auto-peeps in this part of mumbai aint that bad.. atleast they dont tel u they want to piss 😐
    the mere thot makes my skin crawl.. arrghh..

  14. March 17, 2010 3:01 PM

    Watering the plants..ROFL..too good…Manners are the toughest to acquire for human specie it seems!

  15. March 17, 2010 10:59 PM

    Hahahaha 😀 😀
    Check out my experience
    http://opinionsandexpressions.wordpress.com/2008/05/26/shame-shame/

  16. March 18, 2010 12:49 AM

    Somethings never change, especially in India!!!
    About watering the plants, im sure the green brigade will be a happier lot… 🙂

  17. March 24, 2010 6:26 PM

    And, that person would never even think that he’s done something which he shouldn’t have done :-/

  18. March 31, 2010 10:13 PM

    Lol. Good narration there 🙂 Was expecting something serious 😛

  19. June 28, 2010 1:59 PM

    Haha, first time this happened with u eh? A very common “public toilet” for autowallahs is a point on the wall on that stretch between Dharavi T-Pt. and Kalanagar X’ing.

Leave a Reply

