Skip to content

The View From My Window

March 25, 2010

Oh look, here they are.. Finally they’ve arrived. What took them so long, I wonder?

I’ve been waiting for a year now, but it has been worth it. Because they look so beautiful. So juicy. Yummy!

 

The fragrance is heavenly, spicy and sweet. It wafts into the house on a particularly hot day, beckoning us to come out and see the beautiful ripe fruits, hanging there proud in their full glory. The ‘King of Fruits’ is such an apt title.

 

 

Wait till mom sees them. She’s going to totally flip. All those plans about mouth-watering recipes will finally take shape.

Come on what are we waiting for? Lets get them down. I know they’re dying to be plucked. I can see the yearning quite clearly, on their fresh, shiny, lush, green bodies. The tree is right outside my terrace. All I have to do is extend my hand to touch them. Exciting, isn’t it?

 

This is the best part about summer. Brings back memories of childhood when we kids, during the holidays, would participate in mango-plucking competitions, and later have a mango party. It was so much fun!

 

“Yes, yes I am coming.”

The mangoes are calling, can’t neglect them any longer. So bye!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 11:06 PM

    Delicious mangos!

  2. March 25, 2010 11:07 PM

    Or may be ‘mangoes’ is the correct form!

  3. March 25, 2010 11:21 PM

    ooohh…maaann…loved these..
    u knw we used to tell the watchman to pluck kacchi kaeries for us 😀
    and he used to do it also stealthily lest the owner chides him 😀
    i loveeeee it 😀

  4. March 26, 2010 3:32 AM

    My mouth just watered when I saw the picture. Yummy…eat raw with salt and red chilli….damn now you are making me feel miserable. Poor me will have to just dream and drool on my chin..sitting so far away from India 😦

  5. March 26, 2010 2:29 PM

    Poojaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

    Don’t eat them alone…Please courier to me also…

    Regards
    Arvind Chugh

  6. March 26, 2010 5:58 PM

    Arre, my aunt has a tree outside her appartment that looks just like this. Nice, ripe, juicy yellow mangoes. My brother used to go up the tree and pluck them, and i used to hold the ladder up. He fell on my one day. We never plucked mangoes together after that.
    The plus is, my nose still shaped well, notwithstanding.

  7. March 26, 2010 11:35 PM

    Wow…that’s really a picture that forced me to run a hand over the keyboard to wipe off the drool…While I was in India, my aunt and I were famed to salivate at mangoes, so much that we’d make them fall of the trees…Need to see if my skills still work, what with me sitting sooo far away from the nearest mango tree…thanks for the visual treat, though!

    • March 29, 2010 8:28 PM

      wow that is some super power.. plz try, for me, i am not in the mood for a lot of physical effort owing to the heat :P..
      anyways, welcome to my blog!!!

  8. March 27, 2010 9:42 AM

    My trees are in flower too…lovely Banganapalli…bigger than the biggest coconut!
    A lovely sight…and a beautiful photo

  9. March 27, 2010 1:49 PM

    Ripe Alphonsoes are in the market! Only problem is the astronomical price 😦

  10. March 27, 2010 4:48 PM

    oh I simply love mangoes!

  11. March 29, 2010 10:09 AM

    I’ve written a post on Mangoes and the summer heat, too. Would love your comments on that, Pooja. Here’s the URL, “http://hopeagainsthope-shithappens.blogspot.com/2010/03/ek-aam-ladki-ke-aam-kisso-ki-aam.html” Will keep reading your blog!
    Regards

  12. March 29, 2010 11:57 AM

    You have your OWN MANGO TREE? And I am green too but with envy.

  13. March 30, 2010 1:29 PM

    Hi there!

    Mangoes bilkul aam cheez nahi hai , dont u agree? 😉

    I guess the king of fruits is a deserving title and yes, everybody has a mango story!

    nice post..took me back to my childhood!

    If possible and if you wish, do pay me a visit at my page

    http://www.assorted-platter.blogspot.com

    thanks!

  14. March 30, 2010 2:51 PM

    Tx for visiting pooja..have replied on my blog as well.Keep up the good writing!

Trackbacks

  1. A Wedge In My Heart « Thoughtful Randomness

Leave a Reply

