Skip to content

Hey, Soul Sister

April 15, 2010

I have been wondering lately where I would have been without these extremely important elements in my life.

My girlfriends…

 

I have been lucky to always have a bunch of friends all throughout, may it be in school or college. Dynamics have changed, and only a few have weathered the storm with me, thus being the most important friends I have ever had, the ones I call my core.

 

Every time a memory surfaces – first date, first heartbreak, home detentions, first dress, etc. what stands out is the endless discussions and dissections of every nuance of the situation till we have exhausted every possibility. It is true, that women love to chat. It is engrained in our DNA to talk about everything under the sun and get each others’ opinions. We need to talk – about studies, men, latest fashions, relationships, parents, frustrations and also achievements. There is a need to vent and feel satisfied that there is someone who totally understands you.

This somehow, only women can do. It is difficult to rely on a man for such ‘worldly’ advice.

  

"Hey, Soul Sister"

 

I have 3 very close friends, some I’ve known all my life. They all live in the city, however being in totally diverse occupations it is difficult to be in contact all the time. Yet we are connected by this telepathic thread which transcends all boundaries. I know, that if I am in a fix, I can call any one of them, at any time of the day.

They are strong personalities, who are on their way to achieve new paradigms of success. A couple of them would move away, but the bond would never break.

 

Girlfriends add a new dimension to a girl’s life. Their presence, even virtually, is enough to boost confidence.

My friends have influenced me a great deal. They have had a huge role in contributing to make me, ME.

 

“Thank you so much for being there. I love you!”

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 12:25 PM

    I sooo agree with you. Every word that you wrote completely resonates with me..I could not have gone thru some tough times in my life if not for my best friends..

  2. April 15, 2010 8:35 PM

    yes its lucky to have such soul sisters. I was lucky to find one in my own sister 🙂 two in one!

  3. April 15, 2010 9:53 PM

    “It is difficult to rely on a man for such ‘worldly’ advice.”

    Pooja, can you please elaborate? What exactly do you mean by ‘worldly’ advice here? 😛

    • April 17, 2010 1:10 PM

      oh come on you knw wht I mean.. a girl’s perspective is what I am counting on, which guys can’t contribute for obvious reasons :P..

  4. April 15, 2010 10:21 PM

    Its soooooooo true, Sometimes I feel how my bestfriend doesn’t get a headache after listening to all my crap:)

  5. April 15, 2010 11:17 PM

    nice one…you sud have put pics of your best friends….:D

  6. Farila permalink
    April 16, 2010 10:09 PM

    I totally agree with you that our GF’s are very important part of our lives.. Most of my friends I have now have been connected through our suffering of Breast Cancer but then it has grown into something very special…

  7. April 17, 2010 10:20 AM

    Good post…but I would say…even guys tend to do whatever you mentioned above. Mine is a pretty similar story of having frnds everywhere and discussing just about nything damn thing…

    Just one thing for frndship – Frndship is the best thing to have happened to mankind 🙂

  8. April 17, 2010 3:03 PM

    Thats a nice thought…In fact, I have a soul sister apart from a biological one..that makes it two I guess…:) And yes, I don’t feel judged, I’m just myself, there are times they get beeps at the dead of the night and if there is anyone who hurts at my plight more than i do, its my soul sister..ohhh just writing this makes me miss her more…

Leave a Reply

