Skip to content

30 Minutes Or Free

May 23, 2010

I love pizzas, and I am sure you do too. Crisp crust, with tangy tomato sauce and a generous amount of mouth-watering cheese. Hungry kya? 😉

 

Though I do feel, that this pizza-love proves to be costly. The hundred thousand calories that you consume sure proves to be a disaster.

But not just that…

 

The 30 Minutes Or Free guarantee is a marketing gimmick by numerous Pizza joints (esp. American chains) opened in our cities. As the phrase suggests, if not delivered within 30 minutes, the pizza is absolutely free. Quite an attractive offer, right. And haven’t we all hoped for that to happen :D?

But have we considered the extent the delivery boys go to making sure we’ve received our order on time?

 

"30 minutes or free"

 

I had not, until now.

The other day, I saw this young chap in a logo-ed t-shirt riding his bike like a rocket. It felt like he was on his way to winning some world championship. I was like “Gosh! He is gonna crash now!”, and he did. He almost collided into a SUV, but in the nick of time swerved, and crashed against the fender. That probably saved his life. It was then, that I recognized him to be a delivery boy for Pizza Hut.

 

Domino’s came up with this strategy, and it was not long before other chains followed in order to keep up with the competition. However this system was discontinued in the USA. So why are we keeping up with it?

Domino’s India, in their delivery conditions have added this: Domino’s does not penalize its drivers for late delivery.

What a relief! Or is it? I am sure there is some way the drivers are held responsible. Otherwise there is absolutely no reason to drive like a maniac, risking their life. Quite a mystery :P.

 

I don’t see the need to make a promise of delivery. Rather a rough estimate is a safer way. At least this would take into account unforeseen contingencies, and the delivery boy is not too hassled.

 

However awesome a pizza is, it is not so in comparison to someone else’s health. I am sure you agree.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2010 10:24 PM

    oh yeah..I love Domino’s and have got free pizza so many times when I was in India 🙂

  2. July 4, 2010 6:39 PM

    yes I agree..a rough estimate time should be given. I love pizzas too!

Leave a Reply

