Skip to content

Castle

May 26, 2010

I am a complete sucker for everything cop. TV shows to novels, I thrive on stories of crime catchers and upholders of the law.

I’ve come a long way from our very own C.ID. to Numb3rs and recently to CSI: New York.

 

And now there’s a new kid on the block, who has caught my attention: Castle.

 

"Castle"

 

Castle is based on Richard Castle, a famous mystery novelist who has killed off his main character in his current, popular book series and is suffering from writer’s block. He is called in to help the NYPD (who else :P) to solve a copy-cat murder based on one of his novels. The gorgeous, young and determined detective Kate Beckett is the primary investigator on that case.

Castle, who becomes interested in Beckett as a potential character for a potential book series, uses his contacts and receives permission to continue accompanying Beckett while investigating cases. He decides to use Beckett as the model for the main character of his next book series, starring “Nikki Heat” (to Beckett’s consternation).

Kate Beckett, an avid “closet-“reader of Castle’s books, is chagrined by the idea of having Castle shadow her on her cases, as she has to save his butt time and again. But later she warms up and recognizes Castle as a useful resource in solving crimes.

 

If you are aware of the In Death Series by author J. D. Robb, you can’t help but draw similarities between the series’ main protagonist Det. Eve Dallas and Kate Beckett. Didn’t I mention my love for crime fiction ;). However I believe, the latter is a weaker reproduction of the former ace-cop.

 

I have enjoyed a few episodes of Castle, and planning to catch some more. Even though it is no where in the league of the CSIs and Criminal Minds, it promises an hour of mediocre entertainment. That’s better than no entertainment, right ;)?

 

I am not going to tell you not to miss the show, or anything. But Castle does deserve a fair chance to prove it’s mettle. Try it!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 10:15 AM

    Castle is one of my favorite too. And the chemistry between Richard and Kate rocks 😀

  2. May 27, 2010 12:14 PM

    Love this new series and the lead pair’s crackling chemistry 🙂

  3. May 27, 2010 12:51 PM

    Oh I must catch this series. Like you I am a total fan of crime series…Have you watched ‘The Shield’? It is off the air now but a super hard hitting crime drama.

  4. May 27, 2010 1:06 PM

    Ah… you got a criminal mind

  5. May 27, 2010 10:12 PM

    I once used to see Bones but apart from that I didn’t see any serial…. I am going to kill my cable operator for removing star world!!!

    • May 28, 2010 4:14 PM

      WHAT??? Oh my God, you should!!! tht is seriously horrible.

      I’ve not seen bones, but i’ve read Kathy Reichs ‘Deja Vu’. I’ll watch it once I am done with these..

  6. June 9, 2010 10:59 AM

    i love castle !!!

  7. July 4, 2010 6:59 PM

    I love Castle and CSI NY. have u seen the season finale episode of CSI NY S06?

Leave a Reply

