Skip to content

Now We Spinnin’

June 25, 2010

Upbeat feet-stomping music, bright flashy lights and a group of energized people. No, I am not describing a discotheque but my Spinning Class. Though I don’t see much of a difference between the two, except for cocktails ;). 

  

I had this brain wave to join a gym due to my increasing sedentary lifestyle. Going to work 6 days of  a week is no joke, true. But other than that all I do is laze :P. 

Pure gyming gets boring and monotonous. And therefore I joined Spinning starting this week in order to try something  different. It is so much fun, it gets you all charged up and guarantees an adrenaline rush. 

OK, I am being too optimistic and exaggerating a little, a product of my excitement. The truth is my entire body’s aching, so much so that I can hardly even type. But on the contrary it is also the most satisfying feeling, as if I have accomplished a massive task. 

  

Spinning is form of indoor cycling on a stationary bike. Classes take place in a fitness studio, with various light and music settings to create a groovy atmosphere. The music is more of a tool to motivate and build tempo. Instructors are there to guide you through workout phases. Warm-up, steady uptempo cadences, sprints, climbs, cool-downs, etc are part of the one hour workout on the cycle.  Resistance controls are also provided to make the pedaling as easy or difficult depending on your stamina.

 

 

 

 

A high intensity workout, it promises burning of around 500-700 calories per session, at least that’s what my trainer promises. Also there is this added benefit of great shapely legs (there is this awesome pair of shorts I am dying to buy 😉 ), meaning a more flexible and fit lower body. 

 

I have a very low threshold limit when it comes to liking a form of exercise. I hope spinning sustains for enough time to help attain my goal, before I move on to something else. 

I am thinking of kick boxing next. What say ;)?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2010 5:48 PM

    Join a dance class, it’s a fun way to keep fit.

  2. June 27, 2010 12:34 PM

    Since the World Cup’s going on, how about football? 🙂

  3. A.K.P permalink
    June 27, 2010 9:58 PM

    I second dancing. There are so many options even within dancing.

  4. srividya Padmanabhan permalink
    June 28, 2010 6:25 PM

    Pilates !!!!!

    • June 30, 2010 1:56 PM

      yeah I was thinking abt tht too.. the place where I’ve joined spinning have pilates too, but starting next month.. seems ideal!

  5. June 29, 2010 2:13 PM

    oiieeeee kidhar hai yee…
    temme temme temmme 😀 😛

  6. July 4, 2010 6:57 PM

    I am also thinking of joining a gym..hmm..

Leave a Reply

