Skip to content

When I Got A Ticket

June 30, 2010

No, not an airplane ticket to Paris (how I wish ;)), but a fine for not adhering to the traffic signal :(.

I’ve never broken any traffic rules, till now. However, this time I was a little disoriented and in my defence, the light was blinking yellow, which doesn’t exactly mean stop. Seems like I was terribly unlucky to find a traffic cop waving his arms directing me to halt on the side.

 

Obviously I tried to convince the hawaldar to let me go and obviously he did not pay any heed.

There was a dilemma as to whether to pay him off, or to let him confiscate my driver’s license. I chose the latter because at least it was money not wasted to a certain extent. The official fine collected for minor driving offences go to the government treasury, and is supposed to be utilised for public welfare. Of course there were other reasons which influenced my decision, like there being just a one thousand rupee note in my wallet :P, but at least the end result proved me to be a law-abiding citizen. Breaking a signal is a minor offence compared to bribing a government official, so that doesn’t count :P.

 

Ultimately Mr. Hawaldar took away my license and issued me a receipt which looked like this:

 

 

Yeah it does seem lame to click a picture of this, but I want to document it forever, for sentimental reasons :P.

  

Anyways, as instructed I went to the police station the next day, paid a fine of Rs. 100 and got back my license.

FYI, here is a list of driving offences and penalties in Mumbai, issued by the Mumbai Traffic Police. Check it out, it is very informative.

 

It was a new experience for me, and frankly I was a little worried and scared. But things went smoothly and I’ve learnt my lesson, if that is what you wish to hear ;).

From this day onwards, I swear to uphold and follow the traffic laws to the fullest. I hope this suffices :D.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 8:53 AM

    We bribe to wriggle out of sticky situations, to save time and then end up lambasting our corrupt sytem.

    Way to go Pooja 🙂

  2. July 1, 2010 8:54 AM

    Oh and thank you, just saw your blog roll.

  3. July 1, 2010 11:06 AM

    i wish many of us can stop ‘bribing to save time’ and contribute to ending corruption.
    good on you!

  4. A.K.P permalink
    July 3, 2010 4:18 PM

    Like the way u started the post.

  5. July 3, 2010 7:09 PM

    Dont we all know a commissioner Singh somewhere?

  6. July 4, 2010 7:13 PM

    “I swear to uphold and follow the traffic laws to the fullest.” not possible in India…others wont let you!!

  7. July 7, 2010 5:46 PM

    Shit. I thought you were standing for some elections, or something. 😛 Anyway, honestly, you did your part… and you should be happy and satisfied with it. Not everyone can actually control the desire and curiosity of bribing someone. I wanted to bribe a policeman once, but, unluckily, didn’t have money.

  8. Arvind permalink
    July 9, 2010 9:22 PM

    Good girl 🙂

    Thanks god.. wordpress is working in china 😛

  9. July 10, 2010 2:30 AM

    hey!!

    this was fun!

    “but I want to document it forever, for sentimental reasons 😛 .”

    HAH!:D

    I now look forward to reading your other posts!

  10. August 12, 2010 1:04 PM

    Well done…

  11. August 16, 2010 11:48 PM

    Thank You.

Leave a Reply

