Skip to content

Peacock Crossing

July 21, 2010

No, there is no hidden meaning behind the title, nor am I on a wildlife safari. I saw a peacock crossing a lane today, right here in Mumbai.

Surprised? Tell me about it.

 

I was near Juhu Church today, driving nonchalantly when suddenly the bird appears. Poof! out of nowhere, crossing the road as if it owned it. And in no time Thy Majesty had stalled the traffic ‘coz obviously everyone was gaping at it, including me. Of course that was exactly what the whole vain strut was all about – attention seeking tactics.

 

It was a dazzling sight, the bird alluring, bewitching and so graceful, right in front of my eyes. It was surreal.

First I was not sure what I was looking at, because you just don’t jump to the conclusion that you are staring at a peacock in a busy city street, right?  It is not a natural, everyday occurence, totally incomprehensible.

 

 

Anyways, after a little enquiry, I learnt that one of the residents in that area has a peacock and a peahen as pets. I am having a tough time convincing my parents to get me a puppy, and there are people owning peacocks :P. A little weird I must say, but also wow!

One gets to see unusual things in this city, no wonder I love it so much.

 

So I am taking all my friends again for peacock sighting, I might just get lucky again ;). Anyone interested?

____________________________________________

 

Updated: 10th Dec, 2010

I did manage to get a shot of the birds. Check it out on my photoblog.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 7:51 PM

    wow!! it must have been a pleasant shock to everyone 🙂 I wonder if its legal to keep them as pets. I have seen peacocks closely in IIT K campus.

  2. July 21, 2010 10:40 PM

    Mujhe Mumbai bahut pasand hai! Yaha par KUCH BHI ho sakta hai!! 😀

  3. July 22, 2010 12:14 AM

    Not a surprise.. We had lot of them in NITK campus. wild ones

  4. July 22, 2010 8:38 AM

    We have a lot of them is our locality as well. And this is in the heart of cosmopolitan Gurgaon.

  5. July 22, 2010 4:49 PM

    अरे हमारे ग्वालियर में तो इनसे रोज़ाना मुलाक़ात होती है..

  6. July 23, 2010 2:34 AM

    Lol, this was hilarious 🙂

  7. Arvind permalink
    July 24, 2010 10:13 PM

    Well..! it is really weired .. that people are taming peacocks now… what else we could expect ???

  8. Arvind permalink
    July 24, 2010 10:14 PM

    weird*

  9. Shae permalink
    August 3, 2010 4:09 AM

    this is absolutely gorgeous. i came across it in google images and i’m using it as inspiration for my bedroom. i love peacocks and i’ve never fallen so in love with an image as much as this one.

  10. August 5, 2010 9:15 AM

    Interesting. There are a lot of peacocks in my neighbourhood. It is a grand site to see them dance, though you have to wake up early to watch it.

  11. November 10, 2010 1:04 PM

    Peacocks are a common sight in Jaipur and one sees them on buildings and trees early mornings.. Their calls are heard throughout the day, although not in the busy bazaar areas.

    But keeping them as pets, mmm I dont know.. I was trying to convince papa to get me a parrot but we decided against it coz the parrot wala said they have to get it hidden as it’s not allowed.. so I decided better not do it..

    I’d have loved a pet though.. parrot or a puppy.. or a kitten. Maybe one day. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Peacock Crossing « Blog Archive « Ephemeral Instances

Leave a Reply

