Skip to content

Not What I Thought You Were

September 15, 2010

I never see you on the darkest days. I look for you, wait for you.

 

"Not What I Thought You Were"

 

Then when the dawn breaks flooding my life with beautiful light, you resurface holding your lamp, which no longer serves a purpose.

Where were you when I needed you? Where did you disappear, you, who I thought was a friend?

 

____________________________________________________________________ 

 A 55er about making yet another mistake in friendship.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Damini permalink
    September 15, 2010 10:37 PM

    Fair weather friends! One should try hard to stay away from them.

  2. September 15, 2010 11:01 PM

    Not their fault Pooja, you mistake opportunists as friends! And it is better to stay in dark, instead of some borrowed light! 🙂

    By the way Pooja, http://sourav-pandey.blogspot.com/2010/09/i-walk-alone-without-me.html – read the last line of this post carefully, that guy was talking to himself! He lost his best friend – himself, not any friend!

    Though am happy you came up with something really deep as that, after reading my post! Liked it! 🙂

    • September 20, 2010 7:55 PM

      I liked that “it is better to stay in dark, instead of some borrowed light!”
      Yeah I guess I missed the point :(.

  3. September 16, 2010 4:21 PM

    Nice… I felt it was poetic…the picture serves apt too…!!!
    There are indeed a quite a few supposed friends whom we come across like this, with experience we can know their true colors sooner.

    I had written a 55er sometime back, no way close the genre you had written though.
    http://bit.ly/_Friend

    Cheers,

    Charan

  4. September 17, 2010 11:25 PM

    Sourav,
    Not all are opportunities.

    Pooja,
    When it was dark, few friends were running around to find the lamp and then find means to light it. Just that by the time they were able to light the lamp and find you, the sun was shinning 🙂
    just think that even they were in the dark night, it is possible they were going thru the darkest hours simultaneous with you 🙂

  5. September 18, 2010 9:52 AM

    I think you could make a nice poem out of this…lovely!

  6. September 18, 2010 7:20 PM

    I am not sure what the situation or reality that has bitten you. Learn and move on is the only thing I can say, repeat not the same mistake again 🙂

  7. September 30, 2010 2:14 PM

    Quite a thought to ponder:)

  8. October 10, 2010 10:34 PM

    great lines!!

Leave a Reply

