Skip to content

Copy Cat

November 15, 2010

At the risk of sounding like a prissy old school mistress, a nerd and someone who’s got to get a life, I hate it when students cheat in examinations.

 

Maybe this syndrome is hereditary, ‘coz my mom is a teacher, or just because I believe it to be a grave injustice to those who have slogged their asses to study compared to those who partake in unfair activities to clear exams. And the worst is when they boast about how so amazingly brainy and dexterous they are! I could punch them, and hard.

Now if they would apply their smartness to studying just a little bit more there would be an additional benefit of gaining some knowledge, wouldn’t it? Otherwise what is the point of acquiring a degree about which you don’t know peanuts?

 

Cheating is really a shot in the dark. If a student by mistake peeks into someone’s paper who is surely drowning, imagine what a fool he has made of himself. Oh and it would be more imprudent to ask a disciplinarian who is strictly against plagiarizing. He is inviting a complaint against him, or worst – getting a wrong answer :P.

 

 

I believe that students copy when they do not care, either about the study matter or about the significance of it in their  lives.  More importantly, it indicates that most people have no respect for abstract values such as honesty and integrity. I would go so far to say that my generation believes in getting results through any means possible. It doesn’t matter how these results are obtained, they do not mind stooping to any level. Somehow they are unable to comprehend how risky it is to be driven entirely by rewards, and  not by motives. It is so easy to enslave them by luring them with such incentives.

Wow, I really sound like a big bore don’t I :|?

 

A friend of mine, R who also appeared for the Final CA exams with me, claims to have mastered the art of copying. Now, he is extremely hardworking and focused when it comes to studies, but still he wouldn’t refrain from the occasional roving if he had the opportunity. I don’t understand that. If he has worked for it why would he want to demean himself by participating in cheating? So we were placed in the same exam centre, he was on the first bench and I was a few places behind him. I swear I would have thrown something at his head (if I had the guts to do so in the middle of an exam) when he unleashed his so called talent. And then that irritating gloat on his face, I was actually flexing my arms, before he ran away sensing that his life or worst, his face were in grave danger :P.

 

I do admire the boldness these people have to take such risks. But I just don’t see the point, or rather refuse to see it. How much difference can a few marks make? What is the probability that a couple of marks acquired by this means will differentiate between a pass and fail? Hardly anything. If you have not studied at all, and you know you are going to fall short, doing so by a few more marks is hardly going to make any earth shattering impact on your report card. A fail is a fail is a fail. There are no two ways about it.

 

Anyways, coming back to R, when the invigilator shouted, “First bench, look into your own paper”, it really warmed my heart ;)!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 10:35 PM

    Haha! being a student for all these years, I know how it hurts when someone scores a few extra marks by cheating and the hardworker falls behind *just in the exam.* I like this post a lot, cuz not everyone would say it out loud “i hate cheating ” 😉

    • Pooja permalink
      November 23, 2010 11:52 AM

      Thanks so much Farzana.
      I am glad you appreciate the essence of the post.

  2. November 15, 2010 11:32 PM

    ahh so many stories to tell about cheating from so many invigilator duties. Some of the tricks they apply! wish they would apply their that much brains to studying !!

    • Pooja permalink
      November 23, 2010 11:52 AM

      Please share a few of your stories.. Would love to hear a teacher’s version of the so called ridiculousness.

  3. November 16, 2010 8:42 PM

    Accept it, cheating is fun and you don’t know how to do it! Probably your friend R can take some classes for that, but I hope you don’t cheat to learn cheating! 😛

  4. November 19, 2010 12:13 AM

    The thing is… most people don’t think it’s a big deal to copy i.e. values, etc doesn’t even cross their conscience when they copy. I do. Doing (or not doing) copy in exams is a big thing for me, just like you.

    And, it is really saddening to see people boasting about how successfully they copied (or for that matter, fooled someone, took advantage of someone, etc.) 😐

    • Pooja permalink
      November 23, 2010 11:53 AM

      Exactly my point :D.

  5. November 23, 2010 5:59 AM

    Hi,

    This is my first read in ur space… an interesting topic 2 choose and very well-written. I think copying is overrated. And yeah of course a lot of ppl who copy I find, r actually not stupid or inadequate, but rather lazy…
    Following u from now on… 🙂

    • Pooja permalink
      November 23, 2010 11:54 AM

      Thanks so much for the compliment Mr. St. Nomad. Hope to see you around 🙂

  6. Nicole permalink
    February 21, 2011 1:29 AM

    People who copy are only cheating themselves after all!

Leave a Reply

