Skip to content

Anticlimax

December 3, 2010

And it happens yet again… This is being repeated way too many times, and still it has caught me unawares. It is true when people say life is unpredictable, even when it is as predictable as a clock running on time.

 

Two weeks back I was having the time of life. Exams had just gotten over, and my head was filled with all the wonderful ideas that I had been secretly planning regarding the post exam period. They were some wild, crazy, brilliant plans which I was super excited about. You know how it is during examinations, isn’t it? You can’t help but dream about the time you will be getting rid of the anxiety and headache that is a part and parcel of exams. The time when you can afford to be carefree, a little less responsible and a tad bit reckless. Sounds too good to be true!

And it was too good to be true. Like every other time I was dumped with a whole lot of work, started attending a new batch of classes and everyone around me forgot their ‘lets-be-accommodating-‘coz-she-has-exams’ routine in a jiffy and resumed their former not-so-caring behaviour.

I feel it weird that every time I go through the same beaten path, and yet I find it unexpectedly unfair.

It is funny how attitudes change when you say you are working for an important test or report, etc. For eg. my family will take care of my every need to the point of being neurotic and over possessive. I appreciate it with all my heart, but it gets inordinately ridiculous sometimes. And the moment the work is completed, they will go back to their usual bickering, demanding self, as if now that I am ‘one ‘ stress free I can take on another stress, meaning- them. I would appreciate it more if they would not change their demeanor even during my exams. At least it will not lead me to a false sense of hope.

 

Even with relationships, with anyone may I add. You start getting comfortable with a person,  everything is just dandy. You are enjoying the company, the closeness, the matching of wavelengths. And then wham! Everything starts to spiral downwards, the reason being your certain expectation has crashed and there is no looking back from that.

 

It is like a pathetically scripted film which builds on the suspense for a solid 3 hours, and then it ends with such an anticlimax that all you want to do is tear your hair for wasting your precious time by relying on some unknown person’s warped sense of creativity.

But what’s the point in cribbing. Life’s like that isn’t it?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 12:01 AM

    Yeah. Life’s like that. The faster we get used to it, the better 😀

  2. December 4, 2010 12:21 AM

    Good post..very well crafted

  3. December 5, 2010 9:00 PM

    everything needs to be worked on… even relationships…
    nice post

  4. December 7, 2010 12:55 PM

    Happens. I counter it with a mixture of dare ask me, I give two hoots for it and aloofness.

  5. December 14, 2010 2:41 AM

    The essence of Life is suffering – guess a rather philosophical way to start, but the truth is “acceptance of the worst by keeping a void mind can bring wonders”. You need to keep your thoughts, beliefs, desires and expectations to the side and then listen to things that you thought created a wreck in your life and you will see that handling them are a lot easier .

    Well, you can look at these statements pretty grotesquely and shun it away, but if you want peace of mind you need to bring your mind to a state of voidness. I dont know if you understand what I am saying, but it sure has helped me.

    An anticlimax can be looked at a way that says, ” a good director or scriptwriter messed things up”. Rather than worrying why they did what they did. What you need to be focusing on is, if you were in their position how would you have created the climax, think about that. The more you think on such things you will realise a few years down the line that your creative side has actually improved . If you are going to watch a movie that has only entertainment then leave your logical mind at home or you will be disappointed. However, you should put on your thinking cap when you think that the movie has something in it – try to take things in the flow and anticipate the possibilities of the ending.

    Find out if your calculations were right – trust me when I say I have a ball watching any movie. I used to hate movies that were crappy, but now things seem interesting. Thinking to anticipate what you want is the biggest mistake and thats how life is too. You need to anticipate the worst and best and look at it with fearlessness. Just a thought…sorry if I ored you too much. 😛

    Regards
    Bibin

  6. December 18, 2010 10:27 PM

    Life’s a rollercoaster thats what it is 🙂

Leave a Reply

