Skip to content

My Kids

August 10, 2011

I am talking about the kids I teach, not my kids literally (or biologically) speaking.

And they are wonderful adorable, lively, smart, enthusiastic and a whole gamut of cutesy adjectives.

 

Make A Difference, fondly known as MAD is a youth organization which believes in one thing, equality. It strives to bring about this change by providing quality education to underprivileged kids. The vision is simple, empowering them to build their own ambitions and fulfilling them.

I was looking for a cause to associate myself with for a long time. When I heard of MAD I knew instantly this is what I wanted to do. So after enrolling, and going through a gruelling process of group discussion and a load of personal interviews I was deemed fit to be a teacher to a bunch of kids. Yes, these formalities are necessary, even though I didn’t feel the same initially, but again the simple reason being – they wanted the best for the kids.

 

"Make A Difference"

 

I along with another volunteer teach ten children, around 11 years old. It was apparent in our first meeting with them, that they are nowhere at par with other privileged children of their age. However they made it up with sheer passion to learn, to absorb every word that was said to them. On my first day, I had doubts – whether I would be able to teach, whether they would like me or accept me? But those bright, curious faces looking at me were answers enough that this was going to be a huge success.

We have to follow a strict, guided curriculum to teach English, and have to put in considerable efforts to prepare for our weekly class. A lot of fun and games are incorporated to make it interesting. And by the end of the day when the results show that there is tangible progress, all the hard work becomes worth it.

 

It has only been 3 classes, and I’m already referring to them as “my kids”. The emotional attachment is apparent (from both sides). I’m sure my friends are tired of hearing about how “my kids did this” and “my kids said that”.

I agree, it is a huge responsibility to shoulder, still it doesn’t seem like a burden. I hope I can bring a change to their lives in a positive way, because they are surely going to change mine.

I can’t wait for my Sundays with them, I start missing them the moment class gets over. The sheer sight of them is addictive. Oh I can go on and on and on, and it won’t be enough.

 

I wish this MADness continues for a long, long time.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 6:48 AM

    wonderful job you are doing!!

  2. August 10, 2011 3:29 PM

    I wish too… you are doing a great job and WELL DONE YOU. wish more and more people take this up and help the not so privilidged to do something in their life ..

    Good luck and god bless all your Kids .. 🙂

  3. Coffee Bean permalink
    August 11, 2011 11:31 AM

    True manifestation of the passion to make a difference in others’ lives… This is a wonderful gesture, and I hope many of us get inspired to join in the foray too…

  4. August 11, 2011 8:45 PM

    Terrific job there! Moreover, teaching kids benefits both teacher and student. 😀 God bless both parties. 😀

  5. August 12, 2011 10:58 AM

    Great Job Pooja. Keep (MAD) it up!

  6. August 12, 2011 12:10 PM

    Thank you everyone!

  7. August 20, 2011 9:28 PM

    It’s a very noble thing to do. I hope I reach a stage in life too, when I can do something similar for the under-privileged. Keep it up! Your kids shall make you proud.

  8. September 11, 2011 6:52 PM

    First of all, congratulations on landing such a wonderful weekend activity! Can’t think of a better way to contribute… Wishing you all success on this new venture of yours!!!

    St. Nomad

  9. September 20, 2011 10:37 AM

    What a misleading title. But, what work. 🙂

  10. December 29, 2011 8:42 PM

    kudos to the effort!! teaching is a wonderful activity.

Leave a Reply

