Skip to content

The Deadly Sin

February 15, 2011

On my way to the reading-room the other day, a big fat Innova cut me in my lane and crossed in front of me, making me miss the signal. This maniac of a rickshaw driver came so close to my car, that he would have scratched it. I don’t care for scratches, who does? But I’m a tad more finicky especially when the car is newly serviced.

I waited anxiously for the light to finally turn, thinking about how pathetic and reckless some of these drivers were. All the talks about the RTO becoming strict about handing out licenses. Bull shit!

A horn sounded and I looked up to realize the signal was go, and before I could move, with a cacophony of horns the driver behind me just whipped past. I glared at him, but didn’t respond. How could I? The window was up. But nevertheless I was too polite to hassle myself up with some loser who had forgotten his manners.

So I was slightly distracted, and a second late, it wasn’t a big deal. But who’s going to explain that to some bonehead who had not heard of the word ‘patience’. People, I have observed are so piqued all the time. It is annoying to deal with them.

 

At the reading-room, two people were having a tiff. They were obviously together, I mean an item, or you can say a couple (jeez, why is it so difficult to find an appropriate term), and they carried on their sniping for a good part of an hour.

Their tones were mild, but the constant bickering and glaring interrupted by the girl’s sniffs was quite disconcerting especially when you are trying to understand a particularly difficult concept of the new amended Accounting Standards which have been recently added to our already massive and burdensome syllabus of CA Final studies. Ughh! For God’s sakes it is a reading-room, a public place where people come to study. So please deal with your personal matters outside, wherever, but not here!

I spent the next hour trying to concentrate really hard, in spite of the fact that I couldn’t get a handle on the theory and the incessant background music (not). And every time I looked up, the disputing couple, being hushed by a few other students, was giving condescending and challenging looks around. As if anyone was interested in arguing with them. The nerve! I hurriedly packed up my books, and shot them a mean look as I left, just to let them know I did not approve of their behaviour.

 

So many angry people. It is like an epidemic, I thought. Was it possible to have just a single day filled with people raised to be more considerate and accommodating. And with a refined, social attitude?

 

As I was leaving I met a friend, who asked what the matter was. “Just the usual, blah blah” I mumbled.

“No no. Why are YOU so angry?” she asked.

_______________________________________________________

 

Everywhere I look – around me, inside me, there is so much resentment,  so much dissatisfaction. Day after day, on television, in newspapers, at office, in college, on trains and buses, and in the streets, everyone is acting out loud, yelling and swearing and brawling and just not minding their manners.

Why is everyone so infuriated? And why do they have to be so public about it? I really don’t have an answer to it.

 

"The Deadly Sin"

 

So much negativity is surely not good. Anger is, after all one of the seven deadly sins, and justifiably so. The fact that it’s on this list makes it a mighty challenge to overcome. But shouldn’t we take it up, before it annihilates us all?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 9:55 PM

    anger is all around, sure. but it is up to us to filter out all the negativity and focus on the brighter side of life, i guess.

    hugs to you

    • February 16, 2011 12:02 PM

      Agreed. I believe in that the world would be as you want it to be! 🙂

      Kudos for the post. It ends on a good positive note. Also, you are very articulate in your writings 🙂

    • February 19, 2011 9:55 AM

      @Titaxy You are right.. Thank you so much!

      @Ankur Thanks 🙂

  2. Bikram permalink
    February 15, 2011 10:37 PM

    Well you said it urself people dont have patience and everyone is in a rush to reach somewhere …
    thats what the problem is ..

    life has become so fast we have forgotten the basic values 🙂

    I hope you are ok now and dont let such silly things occupy ur mind , take a deep breadth and count till 10 and job done 🙂

    Bikram’s

    • February 19, 2011 9:57 AM

      Thank you.. I am definitely going to follow your advice.

  3. February 16, 2011 11:45 AM

    Anger is a very negative emotion, one of the worst I accept.
    Sometimes the emotion is so preoccupying that nothing else comes to mind. But the age old counting to ten is a good tip… stay happy Pooja. A well written ‘angry’ post. 😀

    • February 19, 2011 9:58 AM

      Yes it hampers you from doing anything else..
      Thanks Deboshree 😀

  4. February 16, 2011 12:44 PM

    Anger is such an ironical emotion you know – having it or not having it both have it’s repercussions. Stored anger needs a vent lest it kills you from the inside – on the other hand too much anger can kill as well ! Think about it.

    Nice thought provoking post.

  5. February 16, 2011 4:14 PM

    Nice provoking article. Super read!

  6. February 16, 2011 11:14 PM

    Anger is good as long as it gives you purpose. Its also trustworthy, its in times like these that your character is put to test which many fail miserably.

    I have seen such lovey doveys pissing people off in the library. I used to travel about 30 kms to my college library to read in peace. And many times I get up stare the couple in their eyes and ask them to keep quiet.

    A small suggestion as you have many tags it might be better to have listed them as a combo box to make it more space efficient.

    I like your post, as it is not preachy.keep writing.
    And they leave, I did this to my seniors too!

    • February 19, 2011 10:02 AM

      They are surely irritating, but what to do?
      Thanks anyways for liking it, and seeing it is your first time here- welcome :)!

      I have no idea what a combo box is..

  7. February 16, 2011 11:42 PM

    And Anger can also kill. We have so many examples here in Delhi. This year a man was shot. What was the tuffle. He was opening the door of his car. And it hit another person’s hand who was carrying a plate of Chicken Tikkas and it made him drop the plate and the eatables. So a fight…the revolver came out and the car owner was shot twice. And he died.
    Anger makes you temporary insane. For a moment you lose the reasoning of right and wrong. And that moment is enough to destroy you.
    In “The Mayor of Casterbridge” it is the one moment of raging impulse that comes to haunt and destroy the main protagonist.

  8. February 16, 2011 11:58 PM

    *And they left

  9. February 17, 2011 12:27 AM

    @Snowleopard: Anger doesn’t justify actions. One must always be held responsible for their actions. If that raging psychopath had concealed his anger and spent it on a roadside vendor or his kid, imagine.

    Unless you acknowledge your anger you are not going to solve it. And how can we miss the master piece Se7en?

  10. February 17, 2011 10:02 AM

    Are you sure you didn’t get angry at all in the reading-room?

    And, why didn’t you ask them to let you read?

    • February 19, 2011 10:05 AM

      Others were doing it, and frankly I didn’t want to trouble myself with it seeing they were quite stubborn.

  11. February 17, 2011 8:05 PM

    nice read…anger is good and bad both….it needs to be used more carefully than it is these days….

    • February 19, 2011 10:05 AM

      That is true, but defining good and bad is one hell of a task!

  12. February 19, 2011 5:14 AM

    Hmmm…. dunno.. i think it all boils down 2 the various qualities of fuses are used in people.. 😛

  13. July 17, 2011 10:12 PM

    very true… nice writings..pooja

    check out my thoughts about anger :

    http://smiling-soul-sowmya.blogspot.com/search/label/anger

    keep writing & smiling 🙂

Leave a comment