Skip to content

Mumbai Winter

December 15, 2010

I’ve been itching to write since a long time, but somehow have been running out of words. But there’s one thing that’s raising eyebrows since a few days. And what better topic than winter right here in Mumbai.

The temperature has suddenly dropped (last recorded at a minimum of 17*C, which is very very low, by Mumbai standards), and it sure is wonderfully chilly.

 

I hear a lot of ‘turn off the fan‘ and ‘shut the window’s these days which is downright weird if you have been living in Mumbai your whole life.

Because, Mumbai doesn’t have a winter season except for the occasional gusts of wind which blow in sometimes during the end of the year, which force people to remove their woolens stored since 1952 and squeeze in a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year imagining themselves amidst the snow in London or New York (as if!).

 

The debut of this new season called Winter in our lives seemed to me as a lapse of judgment on the part of Mr. Weather God (come on, can you blame the old man, he is as old as Momma Earth). Its scientific name is Global Warming, but lets not talk about something that depressing.

 

Even though the temperature is not low enough to be categorized as cold, you can see people thronging the roads adorning winter-wear. You never know how long the cold will last, might as well make good use of the expensive woolens for however little time possible, isn’t it? I saw a group of college girls parading in their fashionable Uggs and trench-coats, the other day, which is definitely going overboard. I am sure they were burnt toast underneath all those uncomfortable layers. But there are some who would go to any extent in the name of fashion.

Stores are filled with sweaters, scarves, jackets and what-nots. It is like celebrating some festival, a mania, people just want to enjoy this tiny, minuscule, hardly-existing season in whatever way they can.

As for me, I just adore my sweatshirts or hoodies as some call them. It is not winter until I get to wear each and every of my collection.

 

 

At times, my thoughts go out to all the needy people out there, who don’t have or can’t afford, enough woolens to keep themselves and their families warm in this weather. I think that’s one reason, why Mumbai shields itself from the winter every year, to keep its children warm. But somehow since the past couple of years it has let its guard down and let the cold wave drop in.

 

Anyhow, selfish as it may seem I wish this weather lasts this entire season. It is pleasant and not yet unbearable. We do not know what the ‘depressing thing‘ has in store for us as of now, so lets enjoy what’s there till it lasts.

And astonishingly, my hands are actually freezing as I type this, so I am going to sign off. Happy winter everyone ;)!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 1:05 AM

    enjoy the winter 😀

  2. December 15, 2010 2:18 AM

    The absence of the cold waves of winder — unlike in the most parts of India — is one of the top reasons I love being in Mumbai 😛 😉 😀

  3. December 15, 2010 2:18 AM

    Well u need to see how it is here in uk.. you will enjoy the winter in mumbai much better 🙂

    • December 15, 2010 7:30 PM

      Its all relative. If you come from a warm place you crave for the cold and vice-a-versa.

  4. December 15, 2010 6:22 AM

    chill!! was 14 last night!!!

  5. ankurtulsian permalink
    December 15, 2010 8:07 AM

    I had always heard that Mumbai winters are mild but in my first year (3 years ago) in Mumbai, the winter was shockingly (accg. to Mumbai standards) cold! Since then, I don’t trust Mumbai winters anymore 😀

  6. December 15, 2010 8:56 AM

    As a traveler, I find mild summer, is the best season to visit Mumbai. I love its dynamic energy.

  7. December 15, 2010 9:01 AM

    I moved to a place where it dropped -17*C recently. And they say winter is just here! Oh, how I miss Bangalore… the best weather you can ever get any season!

  8. December 15, 2010 1:53 PM

    Happy winters and the change! I’ve always wanted winters to be here, there and everywhere all through out the year! 🙂

    • December 15, 2010 7:31 PM

      Me tooo.. I don’t like summer very much.. Winters and then rains.. Monsoon is one thing that Mumbai does best though.

  9. December 15, 2010 5:53 PM

    Interesting…..woolens and frozen hands at……WHAT WAS THAT….17????
    That is pleasant.
    But I think we can forgive you 😛 Enjoy the….errr….winters 😉

    • December 15, 2010 7:32 PM

      Hey it went down to 14 OK!
      As I said, here we make the most of what we have ;).

  10. December 16, 2010 3:04 PM

    yeah, very true….its very similar in Bangalore ,however better than mumbai ( i mean in terms of chill!!!!) …we have an extensive winter for around a month and a half…..but nothing as comparable to Delhi….thank god i love southern part of India…because of that fact….
    anyways…interesting write up…..

  11. December 16, 2010 7:01 PM

    great presentation, write up and pics.
    excellent.
    thumbs up.

  12. December 18, 2010 10:41 PM

    Ahh it is good to hear that..went to Mumbai for one day in May and the weather was HORRIBLE!

  13. December 19, 2010 10:26 PM

    Indian winter is pleasant but the bad roads make the rains a miserable experience. I wish it would snow in other parts of India, like it does in the northern regions. 🙂

  14. December 23, 2010 10:13 PM

    dont remind me of winters we are having a bad one here .. with all the snow and everything turning ot ICE… its bad ..they say temp might reach upto -20 brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    Bikram’s

Leave a comment